United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Last Reviewed: January 2024

The United States outer space program structurally consists of civilian and military components. The National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) is the leading U.S. civilian outer space authority, established under the National Aeronautics and Space Act of 1958. The military structure of outer space is organized under the Department of Defense’s Space Enterprise, which consists of the U.S. Space Force and U.S. Space Command. U.S. national space policy and strategy is in part informed by the National Space Council, reestablished by Executive Order 13803 in 2017. The National Space Council is chaired by the Vice President and consists of membership across civilian and military sectors, including but not limited to, the Secretary of Defense, the Secretary of State, the Administrator of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, and the Chairman of the Joints Chief of Staff. Key contemporary U.S. positions on space security include its political commitment not to conduct destructive direct-ascent anti-satellite missile testing, its National Space Policy and its Defense Space Strategy.