Republic of KoreaRepublic of Korea
Last Reviewed: August 2023

The Republic of Korea has an established Basic Plan for Space Development Promotion, which is updated and released every five years based on the Space Development Promotion Act of 2005. In addition, South Korea releases a yearly implementation plan. Military space activity is overseen in part by the Republic of Korea’s Ministry of National Defense, Air Force, and Joint Chiefs of Staff. The Defense Space Strategy is the blueprint for the development of South Korea's future defense space power. Key contemporary South Korean positions on space security also include its political commitment not to conduct destructive, direct-ascent anti-satellite (ASAT) missile testing in October 2022.