Last Reviewed: January 2023
Print as PDF

The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) is a political and military alliance of 30 nations. The alliance is founded on the North Atlantic Treaty and the principle of collective defense as prescribed in article 5 of the treaty. In 2018 at the Brussels Summit Declaration, it was announced that due to recognition of the evolving environment of outer space, NATO would create a space policy. Outer space is now an operational domain with an official space policy under NATO.