Last Reviewed: January 2023
Print as PDF

The Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) is an interstate organization consisting of 11 States aimed at promoting political, economic and social interactions among former Soviet Union Republics. Although CIS primarily consists of civilian activity, the CIS has an established Agreement on the Concept of Military Security of the Member States of the Commonwealth of Independent States. CIS coordinates outer space dialogue amongst its members, resulting in instruments such as the Agreement on Joint Activities in the Exploration and Use of Outer Space.